AGM & Voting Procedures

Annual General Meeting (AGM)

 Notice of Meeting: the 2014 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Date:     Thursday 10 April 2014
Time:     2pm EST
Venue:  Wilfred Brookes Room, Level 4, Sally Walker Building, Deakin University Waterfront Campus, Geelong.

Agenda for 2014 Annual General Meeting 2014 Chairperson’s Report


Voting Procedures for Directors of the Board


  1. According to The National Rural Law and Justice Constitution, Directors will be elected by Members at the AGM
  2. Only members of the National Rural Law and Justice Alliance (NRLJA) will be eligible to nominate for positions on the NRLJA Board and cast a vote in the election.
  3. Notices of Meeting and proxy forms will be sent out by post or electronically, to be received by members at least 21 days prior to members meeting at the AGM.


  1. Members will be contacted by letter (sent by post or electronically) calling for nominations for suitable candidates to be elected as directors of the National Rural Law and Justice Board and giving them notice of the Annual General Meeting (AGM).
  2. Eligible members will be able to apply online using the Nomination to Board of Directors Form (below)
  3. Nominations for candidates must be received at least 21 days prior to AGM.


  1. Voting will take place by electronic ballot unless a member requests a postal vote.
  2. Votes for the election of directors, whether postal or electronic must be received at least 7 days before the AGM. Appointments of a proxy may also be notified electronically.
  3. The candidate who receives the highest number of votes will be elected. If there is more than one vacancy the candidate who receives the second highest number of votes will be elected and so on.

Voting Rights

  1. Voting rights are the same as if by poll, namely: Each member has one vote.
  2. Members can appoint a proxy to exercise their voting rights
Nomination of Proxy Form 2014


Organisational Delegate nomination form 2014


Term of Directorships

  1. One third of the initial Board of Directors representatives (3 representatives) will stand down at the first, second and third AGMs all of whom will be eligible for re-election
  2. Which of the initial Board members will be subject to re-election will be open to voluntary nomination or determined by lot
  3. Upon election, each Director will have a continuing term of three years. A director may not retain office for more than 3 calendar years following the director’s election without submitting for re-election.
  4. If a Director is re-elected, their election will be for a term of 3 years and, pursuant to the Constitution, they must retire from office no later than the sixth AGM since that re-electionIn the event of resignation of a Board member, the replacement representative from the member body will serve out the timeframe of the existing appointment.
Nomination to the Board of Directors Form