The Alliance draws on the collective wisdom of a twenty-four member Council to ensure inclusive representation and future progression which reflects the diversity of interests in rural, regional and remote Australia. The Alliance Council provides advice to the Board, and is the forum for debating and proposing the policies and strategies of the Alliance for the future. The Council represents the membership and is comprised of 20 individuals nominated by Alliance General Members with an additional four Council members elected by the ‘Friends of the Alliance’.

Council Members

Image coming

Austin Sweeney – Native Title Services Victoria, Melbourne, Victoria

Associate Professor Sue Brumby – National
Centre for Farmer Health, Hamilton, Victoria
Tom Allen for web
Tom Allen – National Association of Community Legal Centres, Kununurra, Western Australia

Christine Forster – Environmental Farmers Network, Arrarat, Victoria
Felix Turnbull web
Felix Turnbull – Care Goondiwindi, Goondiwindi, Queensland

Philippa Whitman – Advocacy Support Centre, Toowoomba, Queensland

Amanda Kennedy – AgLaw Centre, University of New England, Armidale, New South Wales

Jeffrey Caldbeck – Rural Financial Counselling Service Central West, Dubbo, New South Wales

Professor Chris Cunneen – The Cairns Institute, James Cook University, Cairns, Queensland

Nerida Cullen for Web

Nerida Cullen – Australian Women in Agriculture, Goulburn, New South Wales

 Shane Duffy web

Shane Duffy – National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Services, Brisbane, Queensland

Madonna Price for web

Madonna Price – National Association of Community Legal Centres, Roma, Queensland

Steve Redhead for web

Steve Redhead – Charles Sturt University, Bathurst, New South Wales

Marion Dewar web

Marion Dewar – Country Women’s Association of Australia, Leongatha, Victoria

 Daniel Jacobs web

Daniel Jacobs – National Pro Bono Resource Centre, Sydney, New South Wales

 Eamon Waterford web

Eamon Waterford – Youth Action NSW, Sydney, New South Wales

Lex Payne for Web

Lex Payne – National Legal Aid, Perth,  Western Australia

Richard Coverdale web

Richard Coverdale – Deakin University, Geelong, Victoria



 Asher final web

Asher Hirsch – Refugee Council of Australia, Melbourne, Victoria